Boards & Committees

Temple Bat Yam is governed by the congregation’s Constitution and By-Laws ratified by the membership in May 1997. Congregational leadership is exercised by a board of directors comprised of six elected officers, seven elected trustees, the previous president of the congregation, our Rabbi, Religious School Director and the president of the sisterhood. Several appointed constitutionally-mandated committee chairpersons also serve on the board which meets monthly. Our Constitution and By-Laws provide for broad participation by the membership through a variety of standing committees: Arts and Furnishings, House, Jewish Education, Ritual, Membership, Nominating and Election Supervision, Public Affairs, Publications, Social Justice and Outreach, Ways and Means, and Youth Activities.

CLICK HERE for the complete TBY calendar that includes the dates and times of board meetings.

Rabbi Arthur S. Rutberg

Executive Board

President, Candy Gusst

Executive Vice President, Bette Bohlmann

Congregational Vice President, Stu Smolins

Treasurer, Lew Bush

Executive Secretary, Joan Kessler

Congregational Secretary, Jeff Thaler

Past Presidents, Karen Abrams, Paul Schwab, Candy Gusst, Larry Pack, Stu Eisenman, Larry Michnick, Mike Waldman, Jeff Thaler, Hal Glick, Mel Stein, Jerry Selig, Andy Benjamin


Stu Eisenman

Barbara Garber

Alan Halle

Susan Kaltenbaugh

Paul Schwab

Jay Taustin

Steve Winkler

Board Members

Religious School Committee Chair, Rabbi Arthur S. Rutberg

Rabbi, Rabbi Arthur S. Rutberg


Membership, Karen Abrams

Arts & Furnishings, Emily Schwab

Adult Jewish Growth, Rabbi Arthur S. Rutberg

Library, Grayce Cohen

Ritual, Steve Winkler & Bette Bohlmann

Finance, Jay Taustin

Development, Sandy Abrams

Publicity, Tim Rucinski


Community Outreach, Rina Thaler

Religious School, Rabbi Arthur S. Rutberg

House, Candy Gusst

Sisterhood, Anita Winkler

Men’s Club, Steve Winkler & Steve Cohen

Safety & Security, Sandy Abrams

Judaica Shop, Karen Abrams